New Patch Tool

All things embedded.
*NO FEATURE REQUESTS*

New Patch Tool

Postby Simeon » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:30 pm

I have made a new React/Webassembly version of the Online Patch Tool, which mean it works in modern browsers.

Ta-da, Merry Christmas.

http://simeonpilgrim.com/nikon-patch-test/index.html

Anyways it fully works as far as I am concerned. I have patched D300, D810 firmware and a few others and they come out 100% the same as the old patch tool. So really I guess the tool needs some people to play with it and to make sure it's not crazy unusable.

To that end the code is at: https://github.com/simeonpilgrim/nikon- ... n-Patch-JS

I will accept pull requests/patches that make it less ugly etc etc.

I am keen to hear if it works for people (especially if you apply the same patch via the old tool tool and can check the files are the same) or where it doesn't work etc.

On this thread I will delete any and all posts asking for firmware patches, I want this just to be about the tool.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool (still in test phase)

Postby Simeon » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:28 pm

Two known problems:
* there is no UI distinction between dev/alpha/beta level patches, and no extra layer of "are you sure?" like the old tool had This has been done - 2 Feb 2018
* there are no descriptions of what the patches do displayed.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool (still in test phase)

Postby Simeon » Sat Dec 30, 2017 5:21 pm

Update the known firmware list, All current models/version are at least known now.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool (still in test phase)

Postby Simeon » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:07 pm

I have done some more testing in Chrome, IE11 and Edge. Chrome and Edge work just fine, IE11 (the saving grace of Silverlight doesn't work with the WebAssembley) so it's out of the awesome list..

I am content to works well enough, that I will switch it over later tonight.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby Simeon » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:36 pm

This is now live.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby coderat » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:04 am

Firefox 52 supports WebAssembly. However patch tools doesn't work in it: it shows "Waiting for WebAssembley code to complete loading.... Which will not work on IE 11 and earlier." and nothing happens...

May be should allow old style patch tool for such cases and/or IE =<11 with only "old" patches.

Best regards,
coderat
coderat
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:21 am
Been thanked: 450 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby Simeon » Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:15 pm

I'll look into FF52 to see what it's problem is, maybe how I've hooked up the "loading complete" is not FF friendly..

I was thinking of pointing to the "old" patch-tool for older clients, which makes a lot of sense, I had been thinking of auto redirecting, but a link and more words might make more sense.. good idea.
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby Simeon » Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:24 pm

Hmm, just loaded a clean install of FF52 (viahttps://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/52.0/win64/en-US/) and it worked for me.

FF52_webasm.png
Simeon
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:12 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Been thanked: 613 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby coderat » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:39 am

Webdeveloper Console shows "no native wasm support detected". Reading https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/WebAssembly I found that it is disabled in ESR edition, meaning XP/Vista users can't use it directly with Firefox.

SOLUTION: in Firefox goto to about:config page, select javascript.options.wasm and change it to "true".

P.S. Simeon, perhaps it is more user friendly if web page detect it automatically and gives user a hint?
(in case you get couple of minutes to implement this. I really do not understand why Firefox made it so unfriendly :( )
coderat
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:21 am
Been thanked: 450 times

Re: New Patch Tool

Postby a1358986 » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:39 am

Does this remove D500 30-min too?

And if something wrong happened and went south, is going to Nikon CS the only way to fix?

Thx!
a1358986
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:30 am
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests