Dark Current Enable Tool

All things embedded.
*NO FEATURE REQUESTS*

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:46 pm

Thank you very much!
I could confirm it works.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby arthurking83 » Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:54 pm

Is there any way to support the D800E?

If it's not too different from the D800 I don't mind testing on my D800E.

Thanks.
arthurking83
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:23 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:11 pm

arthurking83 wrote:Is there any way to support the D800E?

If it's not too different from the D800 I don't mind testing on my D800E.

Thanks.


Sorry I completely forgot that model. Yes the 2 are 99.99% identical. I've pushed the new release in my first post.

Please check it out and report back.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby mads0100 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:42 am

Thank you Astronomer! Is there any way to use this without tethering?
mads0100
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:29 pm
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:56 pm

mads0100 wrote:Thank you Astronomer! Is there any way to use this without tethering?


Hi mads0100,

Right now it's difficult as we do not understand the firmware as a whole. And patch done for D5100/D7000 will set everything to default. That means the Gr and Gb pixel are not equalized in analog gain. Thus I wrote my own calibration pipeline.

Best,
astronomer
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby D80 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:25 am

Hello astronomer!

Have I understand this correctly if this disable the "star eater" just in USB tethering mode? To control the camera through a computer. This would be perfect for my Nikon D600, I have the 1.02 firmware and 2.000 distortion map installed.

Kind regards
D80
D80
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 4:30 am
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby Oknoder » Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:06 am

Downloaded last night and will be testing on d800e in a few. I plan on taking 30s subs at all iso with cap on both teathered and free. Just for side by side comparision.


Ill post my results, much appreceated.
Oknoder
Oknoder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:51 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby arthurking83 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:48 pm

D800E:

Took various test images, in almost complete darkness. vf shutter closed, lens cap on, camera under the desk to maintain darkness as best as possible.

6 test shots each @ ISO100, 400, 800, 1600, 3200 and 6400(just to see any differences in rendering).

First set of images with NikonBlackLevel(NBL) set to enabled in camera look fine.
All images look good, a noticeable difference in black level from ISO100 to 400, and a steady increase in RGB levels from there on.
ie. where ISO 100 is black (0,0,0) ISO400 is more like 3-4 RGB values.
The difference between images with black level enabled and those where its reset back to disabled is a marked one, especially compared to the images with LNR set to ON(which has been my preference for most low light photography.

BUT! .. a second series of test shots with NBL set to enabled in camera .. all 6 images rendered a solid magenta colour. (ie. some kind of data problem ???).
The magenta image's RGB pixel values area pretty steady 135, 62, 108 across the entire frame. ie. a solid magenta coloured frame .... not magenta banding or smudges or various hot pixels here and there.
Now every time I set NBL to on, I only get these magenta images(or images with a very strong magenta cast over them)
With NBL set to off, the camera operates as per normal.

If I capture a normal image(as opposed to a dark frame) with NBL on there is a very strong magenta cast over the image and exposure appears to be around 1-2Ev too bright compared to the same exposure with NBL set to off.

I note that when NBL is enabled in the camera, the option to turn LNR on or off is disabled. At this point I'm assuming that NBL is set to on.
Upon resetting the camera, the option to enable/disable LNR is returned, which I assume NBL is now off again.

If this is not normal, I can provide raw images if you need them for analysis.
arthurking83
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:23 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:53 pm

arthurking83 wrote:D800E:

BUT! .. a second series of test shots with NBL set to enabled in camera .. all 6 images rendered a solid magenta colour. (ie. some kind of data problem ???).
If this is not normal, I can provide raw images if you need them for analysis.


Hi,

This is completely normal and intended. The magenta cast is due to the downstream JPEG engine still treating raw data with black level at 0 and you are looking at the JPEG preview inside the NEF file. If you import the files into any astro-imaging software (DSS, MaxIM DL, imageJ, dcraw...) the raw data will have black centered at 600.

If LENR is on, a subtraction of dark frame during "Job NR" will make everything back to 0 (600 - 600 = 0) so the JPEG preview is normal again. This option is no longer available once the mod is injected into camera and will stick to the original user setting. It is advised to turn off LENR before applying this mod.

If you do astrophotography with hours of multiexposures on a tracking mount, these data can be stacked using astronomical software and stretch out the very bit of signal. But it will be useless if you only do one shot.

Best,
astronomer
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:05 pm

D80 wrote:Hello astronomer!

Have I understand this correctly if this disable the "star eater" just in USB tethering mode? To control the camera through a computer. This would be perfect for my Nikon D600, I have the 1.02 firmware and 2.000 distortion map installed.

Kind regards
D80


It only inject once, then you could disconnect. But power off or let the metering system go to sleep will revert to normal.
Firmware version does not matter.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 292 times

PreviousNext

Return to Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron