Non cpu lenses

Wifi, USB, GPS, Grips, Mics, Ext Power, Lens, Flash

Non cpu lenses

Postby aggiechase37 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:56 am

I've seen where some of the higher end cameras can be programmed to meter for non cpu lenses. Is there any way that this can be added to the firmware for the D5100? I've got some old series E prime lenses that I use, and it sure would be useful if the camera's metering system would work with them. My understanding is that this is a feature that is implemented on the 7000, so seems like it would not be too much of a chore to get it working on the 5100, or am I missing something? Thanks!
aggiechase37
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby ztan » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:57 am

The AI lenses pass aperture information to the camera via a manual tab on the aperture ring which engages a tab on the body.

See http://photo.net/nikon-camera-forum/00apNN for picture.

Adding AI metering for the cameras without this aperture tab is a hardware fix and cannot be implemented in firmware. You would need some way to encode the aperture ring rotation and get that information passed through to the camera electronically.
ztan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:08 pm
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby ztan » Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:01 am

ps:
On the D5100 you can enable the lens to act like a G type lens if you install a "Dandelion" chip and keep the aperture ring at the minimum end. You won't be able to use the aperture ring to set the aperture.
ztan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:08 pm
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby aggiechase37 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:24 pm

What's a dandelion chip? Where can I get this mythical beast?
aggiechase37
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby Vicne » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:36 pm

Vicne
Core Developer
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:30 pm
Been thanked: 167 times

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby aggiechase37 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:06 am

smarty pants :)

I don't think it's worth it to get this chip. I have some old E series primes that I've been shooting with. I think I'm just going to have to end up upgrading to the G series primes (probably 50mm 1.8 and 28mm 1.8) and get the improvement in IQ as well.
aggiechase37
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:15 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby Vicne » Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:38 am

Vicne
Core Developer
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:30 pm
Been thanked: 167 times

Re: Non cpu lenses

Postby coderat » Tue May 07, 2013 5:11 pm

Here there is a good table what Dandelion can and what not http://nikonclassics.de/info/-Dandelion--CPU.html
You must switch to german language on this site to see table with features (it is not translated), but still easy to understand.
coderat
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:21 am
Been thanked: 450 times


Return to External Hacks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests