D3100 Feature Requests

Wouldn't it be cool if we could make our camera do ________ ?
Patching issues and other general help requests here please.

unlocking video timer for nikon d3100

Postby mrfire » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:41 am

Hi everybody out there !!
I am new here..
i want to unlock the video timer for nikon d3100
Can you help me?
I am sure there is a thread for this matter already.
Please help
Thank You
Fernando
mrfire
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:34 am
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: unlocking video timer for nikon d3100

Postby coderat » Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:15 am

mrfire wrote:i want to unlock the video timer for nikon d3100

What should this mean :think:
Regards,
coderat
coderat
Core Developer
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:21 am
Been thanked: 450 times

Re: unlocking video timer for nikon d3100

Postby mrfire » Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:57 am

Hi Sorry !!
My Camera stop Filming by 10minutes..it is a countdown ...There is a software to unlock the timer...i am searching for that..After reprograming the camera it is up to film 20min or more...
mrfire
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:34 am
Been thanked: 0 time

D3100 Liveview Aperture Control

Postby David » Mon May 05, 2014 7:01 pm

Hello!
I own a D800 and D90.
I need a second camera for video works. D90 doesn't have enough quality.
I've thought to buy a D3100. I need video manual controls and I've watched this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHY8EmeWDE8
showing the manual live controls and I can't see the manual aperture. There is a manual aperture for video in nikon D3100? Maybe outside the liveview?

Between D3100 and D3200 what are the differences in recording video? Should I choose a D3200?
David
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:33 am
Location: Spain
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: D3100 Liveview Aperture Control

Postby DavidYuma » Mon May 05, 2014 11:25 pm

David wrote:There is a manual aperture for video in nikon D3100? Maybe outside the liveview?


Well, actually there is a manual aperture control for nikon cameras. I use my D5100 with Ai-S lenses and there already is full aperture control while shooting video. Thanks to the 'Liveview Manual Control ISO/Shutter'-patch its not too hard to find the right exposure. :text-thankyoublue: !!! -I guess with Nikkor AF-D, Zeiss ZF.2, Samyang MF or Video lenses you have both aperture control and light metering, but i never figured it out myself.
My fastest workaround for this problem with G-design based lenses is, whenever i need to change the aperture while filming i set the new aperture with the dial, then i take a picture. This stops filming but sets the new aperture, so i have to start filming again. It´s not perfect, with G lenses you don´t see the changes in lv, you have to guess and you have to restart filming. But it works without ending liveview...

saludos cordiales
DavidYuma
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:33 am
Been thanked: 2 times

D3100 - Release Priority

Postby Linglesou » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:36 am

Is there a possibility of enabling an option for Release Priority in AF-C for the D3100 instead of being locked to Focus Priority?
Linglesou
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 9:08 am
Been thanked: 0 time

d3100 external mic

Postby eanafako » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:46 am

Hi all
nice to meet you all. my request is very simple really.... wouldn't it be nice if there was a hack that will utilize the av out of my d3100 as a mic input?? any suggestions or comments will be welcome. thanks
eanafako
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:38 am
Been thanked: 0 time

D3100 LIveView for DSLR Dashboard

Postby hulgo » Wed Sep 24, 2014 11:10 am

Hi, Nikon Hacker.

I have a Nikon D3100, an entry-level DSLR, which Nikon has unfortunately not given full PTP/MTP modes support.
Therefore it is not possible to use the Nikon DSLR Dashboard android app that has a feature through which can get a LiveView feed on the android phone.
My request is, can you please add the required feature to allow LiveView stream to an android phone? If it is possible, that is. :handgestures-fingerscrossed: :handgestures-fingerscrossed:

Thank You.
Sincerely,
hulgo
hulgo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:55 am
Been thanked: 0 time

D3100: Exposure meter in live view

Postby illplanet » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:02 am

Hey guys,

First I would like to thank you for the great work you've done with these patches - it's the first time the D3100 is actually usable for recording proper video. A shame that Nikon did not implement these features in the first place as the Canon 550d which was sold at the same price point and already had at least the manual controls. Learned that later on....

Anyway, what I am missing is the option to display the exposure meter in live view. You can display almost anything by pressing the "info" button on top of the camera but the exposure meter does not show up. The D5200 actually offers this feature, not sure if the 5100 does it as well.
There is a kind of work around though: when pressing the "i" button on the back of the camera you can get the picture quality settings displayed an you are able to see the exposure meter there without actually flipping back the mirror again and leaving live view. However it would be far more comfortable to have it displayed while recording.

Do you think it is possible to implement?

Thanks!
illplanet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:46 am
Been thanked: 0 time

D3100 1080p 30fps

Postby mrsalta » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:28 am

Is the processor/sensor combo in the D3100 robust enough to do 1080p/30fps? It's the only camera in my workflow that won't do it. :/
mrsalta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:26 am
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Feature Requests and Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests