Dark Current Enable Tool

All things embedded.
*NO FEATURE REQUESTS*

Dark Current Enable Tool

Postby astronomer » Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:11 pm

Supported cameras:
EI-142 D300/D300s/D3X/D3/D700/D3s
EI-149 D90/D5000
EI-154 D3100/D5100/D7000
EI-158/175 D800/E/D600/D610/D4/DF/D3200

All cameras above are either tested and working, or have the same code with others so 99.999% will work. D5000 is the only exception due to no firmware release, but supposed should work due to same hardware/sensor.

Again, this is used for scientific imaging and astrophotography where sensor raw is required. For more detail, review instruction here.

Update:
Some user report conflict with existing tethering software. In most cases, it's due to the software not supporting dynamic RAW data format, as capture itself usually succeed before program crash when downloading the overscan NEF data. It's possible that such as image dimension, or compression mode was hard coded into the software. DigiCamControl (latest 1.2) will support dark current enabled DSLRs.
Attachments
DarkCurrentEnabler.zip
(142.36 KiB) Downloaded 3615 times
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 289 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby nikkor » Sat Nov 15, 2014 10:18 am

Might be a stupid question, if so please forgive me.
When using this patch, does it deactivate the channel scaling?
nikkor
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:06 am
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby astronomer » Sat Nov 15, 2014 10:35 am

nikkor wrote:Might be a stupid question, if so please forgive me.
When using this patch, does it deactivate the channel scaling?


Everything is deactivated, it's raw sensor digital data recorded.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 289 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby ymi » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:19 am

Hi Astronomer,
I just did a quick test : the latest exe file woks OK now on my computer and the tool seems to work also in the D300.
The images now have the extra magenta pixels (4480x2972). I will make longer tests when I have time.

Thanks a lot for the work !
ymi
ymi
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:16 pm
Location: Savoie, France
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby astronomer » Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:53 am

ymi wrote:Hi Astronomer,
I just did a quick test : the latest exe file woks OK now on my computer and the tool seems to work also in the D300.
The images now have the extra magenta pixels (4480x2972). I will make longer tests when I have time.

Thanks a lot for the work !
ymi


Could you send me the RAW file? Is the entire preview image magenta?
Please do more test to see if both 12bit RAW and 14bit RAW is working.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 289 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby arthurking83 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:58 am

More Feedback for ya:

OK. It's almost working for me too now.
The exe is working ok, and the program injects it's data into the D300 fine.

I can get images in 12 bit mode, but not 14bit mode.
My D300 has been primarily set to 14bit mode since day one, and initially, with the camera set to 14bit mode already, I wasn't getting any luck.
ie. nothing, no images saved, written to card .. nothing.

I then switched to 12bit mode, and it worked perfectly.
I have the magenta image as per the D800 I tried earlier too.

I can confirm as per ymi's reply .. the file size is 4480x2972 and gives me a 19.3Mb file as opposed to a standard, no LNR no High ISO NR, black image of 4288x2848 and 9.6Mb.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/107 ... H_8334.NEF (link to 12bit D300 file for 'ya)

To be sure: I haven't turned off the camera or changed anything else other than switch to 14bit mode for raw files, and camera doesn't save or write image file to memory card.
Camera operates normally otherwise .. ie. 5sec exposure takes 5 sec .. etc .. just no images saved.
Switch back to 12bit mode and your mod works again.

Switch camera off and it's all back to normal again.

Forgot to say: running stock firmware v1.10.
arthurking83
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:23 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby nikkor » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:09 am

I just took my d300 out of permasleep and tried the patch. The firmware is A 1.02 B 1.00
It only works with 12bit, when I set the camera to 14bit, the shutter makes a strange noise (it said 1/4000th but it sounded like 1/30) and no image was recorded.
nikkor
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:06 am
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby astronomer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:52 am

arthurking83 wrote:I can get images in 12 bit mode, but not 14bit mode.
My D300 has been primarily set to 14bit mode since day one, and initially, with the camera set to 14bit mode already, I wasn't getting any luck.
ie. nothing, no images saved, written to card .. nothing.

I then switched to 12bit mode, and it worked perfectly.
I have the magenta image as per the D800 I tried earlier too.


I've checked the image, the 12 bit is working as expected with Overscan turned on and all processing disabled.
The problem with D300, D300s and D3X is the sensor ADC clock is slow. By using ramping ADC, 14bit has to count 4x amount of digits in order to operate. That's how you got 2.5FPS in 14bit mode. All recent Nikon reads sensor in 14bit fast even if you set to 12bit. The firmware discarded lower 2 bits when storing into NEF container.

There are 5 values in a row in the address I changed. So I'm going to alter others as well, as these might be for 14 bit modes.

arthurking83 wrote:To be sure: I haven't turned off the camera or changed anything else other than switch to 14bit mode for raw files, and camera doesn't save or write image file to memory card.
Camera operates normally otherwise .. ie. 5sec exposure takes 5 sec .. etc .. just no images saved.
Switch back to 12bit mode and your mod works again.

nikkor wrote:It only works with 12bit, when I set the camera to 14bit, the shutter makes a strange noise (it said 1/4000th but it sounded like 1/30) and no image was recorded.

So did the mechanics operated normally, just the image is not written?
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 289 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby nikkor » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:18 am

Well as I said, the mechanics sounded totally different, it focused but when shooting the shutter sound was totally different (should have been 1/4000 but sounded like 1/30 or slower) and there was no image. I can try longer shutter speeds if you want, but at fast ones that's what happens.
nikkor
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:06 am
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Dark Current-D90/D300 Update - Alpha Test needed

Postby astronomer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:46 am

nikkor wrote:Well as I said, the mechanics sounded totally different, it focused but when shooting the shutter sound was totally different (should have been 1/4000 but sounded like 1/30 or slower) and there was no image. I can try longer shutter speeds if you want, but at fast ones that's what happens.


I see. Thank you for the explanation!

OK, I've uploaded this one instead. This will no longer enable overscan mode on D300 but should work for 14bit.
Also try live view see if I accidentally disable the preprocessing for liveview as well. You'll might need to zoom in since 1:1 is a different mode.
User avatar
astronomer
Developer
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:06 am
Location: US
Been thanked: 289 times

Next

Return to Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests